Page background

The Murray A. Newman Awards

For Excellence In Aquatic Research And Conservation

The Murray A. Newman Awards are held annually In recognition of leading researchers and conservationists who have made invaluable contribution to understanding and conserving our irreplaceable Western North American aquatic ecosystems.

The evening begins with a cocktail reception followed by a three-course plated dinner in Canada's underwater Arctic gallery.


The 19th Annual Murray A. Newman Awards Honours

Dr. Robert Devlin

Murray A. Newman Award for Significant Achievement in Aquatic Research

Dr. Robert Devlin is at the forefront of risk-assessment research associated with genetically-engineered fish. He pioneered and took advantage of modern molecular biology techniques to create growth-accelerated transgenic salmon for non-commercial purposes. By estimating the risks such animals would pose should they enter natural ecosystems, he provided core data for regulatory agencies nationally and globally. Other contributions include understanding the control of reproduction, immune function and appetite regulation, and the discovery of the first Y-DNA probe to sex salmon; a technique still used today.

Dr. Verena Tunnicliffe

Murray A. Newman Award for Significant Achievement in Aquatic Research and Conservation

Dr. Verena Tunnicliffe has pioneered both research and observation methods that have significantly influenced the study of local waters and the world’s oceans. She was among the first to explore B.C.’s marine habitats and contributed to the discovery of over 75 new species. Dr. Tunnicliffe has also explored extreme marine systems, deepening our understanding of how species respond to catastrophic or stressful events. She has also consistently taken advantage of technology to study ocean life in situ.


The Murray A. Newman Award was created in 1995 as a tribute to the retirement of the Vancouver Aquarium’s founding director, Dr. Murray A. Newman. This prestigious award is presented every year to celebrate significant aquatic research and conservation work conducted in British Columbia; B.C. residents involved in conservation and research efforts elsewhere are also eligible. Determined by the research committee of the Vancouver Aquarium’s board, two “Murrays” are presented every year – one for significant advances in aquatic research and the other for significant achievement in aquatic conservation.

“The annual Vancouver Aquarium Murray A. Newman awards dinner is a unique opportunity to celebrate passion and dedication as well as significant contributions to the conservation of aquatic life made by remarkable individuals,” said Dr. John Nightingale, president and CEO of the Vancouver Aquarium. “This year’s recipients are known to be making a difference in our world and greatly contributing to the advancement of aquatic science and marine conservation.”



save the Date

Tuesday, Feb 17, 2015


Vancouver Aquarium


6 p.m.

Regular Tickets

$95 (non-transferable)

For ticket inquiries

Please call 604.659.3473

Past Award Recipients

Dr. William Ricker 1995
Dr. Thomas Northcote 1996
Mr. Kenneth Ashley 1997
Dr. Eric B. Taylor 1998
Dr. Timothy Parsons 1999
Dr. J. Donald McPhail 2000
Dr. Daniel Pauly 2001
Dr. Thomas Reimchen 2003
Dr. David R. Jones 2004
Dr. Carl Walters 2005
Dr. Paul Harrison 2006
Dr. David A. Higgs 2007
Dr. David Randall 2008
Dr. John K.B. Ford 2009
Dr Randall Peterman 2010
Dr. Frank Whitney 2011
Dr. Peter Ross 2012
Dr. Robert Devlin 2013

Bertram M. Hoffmeister 1995
Dr. Peter A. Larkin 1996
Mr. Kim Fulton 1997
Mr. Mark Angelo 1998
Dr. Marvin L. Rosenau 1999
Mr. Pat Slaney 2000
Mr. Rod MacVicar 2001
Mr. Rick Hansen 2003
Dr. James Woodey 2004
Dr. Colin Levings 2005
Ms. Alexandra Morton 2006
Mr. Gary Logan 2007
Dr. Kenneth Hall 2008
The Hon. John A. Fraser 2009
Ms Jackie Hildering 2010
The Canadian Okanagan Basin Technical Working Group 2011
Chef Robert Clark 2012 

Conservation & Research
Drs. Anthony Farrell,
Patricia Gallaugher,
and Rick Routledge 2002
Dr. Verena Tunnicliffe 2013 

Science Communication
Ms. Linda Aylesworth 2011


Photo Gallery

Here are some photos from the 19th Annual Murray A. Newman Awards which took place on February 18, 2014.

Photos by Brett Vo Photography 

Click on the images below to view full size.


Share Your Thoughts

How was your visit? Fill in our comment card and let us know.
Find it here



Celebrate the holidays with your aquatic friends.
Learn more

Did You Know?

Did You Know?

Sea otters hold hands to rest in groups called “rafts”.
Read more